RECENT NEWS

April 2008

April 10, 2008

I believe I can fly

flying.jpg

Why haven't you written? Where have you been? These are questions people have asking me. I was shot after that freaking tour. I thought I was Superman but I was rudely awakened from my super-hero fantasy by the hard cold bite of reality. It snapped at my heals like a rabid doberman and sent me into a panic. I was woke with a sense of ennui and wanted to do nothing at all.

So here I am in San Francisco getting ready go to work. We are filming an episode of The Hugh Thompson Show tomorrow at The Moscone Center. Then I have a few shows this weekend in the bay area. I play 2 nights in a row at The Connecticut Yankee in San Francisco. Friday and Saturday night. Then on Sunday night I play in Santa Cruz at The Crepe Place. If you can't make it to those shows then here's what I suggest:

Steve Poltz will be playing LIVE in Videoranch on Saturday April 12h, at 6PM Pacific Time. This is a virtual concert so you attend by logging on from a computer. You do not have to leave your house! Bring the performing arts into your home and be a part of a live audience of music lovers!

Show Times Around the world:
Pacific Time: 6PM to 7PM
Mountain Time: 7PM to 8PM
Central Time: 8PM to 9PM
Eastern Time: 9PM to 10PM
UK Time: 2AM to 3AM Monday
European Continent: 3AM to 4AM
New Zealand Time: Sunday, 2PM to 3PM
Sydney AU: Sunday, 12 Noon to 1PM
Tokyo: Sunday, 10AM to 11AM

What is Videoranch?
Videoranch is a membership-based, 3D virtual world on the internet, where LIVE musical performances are video-cast, seamlessly embedded, and viewed, in real-time, by a virtual audience made up of people logging on from all over the world.

To attend the show, you need high speed internet access and newer computer with Windows on it (Intel Macs work great if Windows is installed).

WATCH IT LIVE: Go to www.videoranch.com, click Enter, then click on the "Visit Videoranch 3D" link on the front page. This will take you to a page where you can download the browser and log in as a "Visitor". You can become a "Ranch Regular" by signing up for a FREE 7 Day Trial from the same page. No payment information necessary. Ranch Regulars have unlimited access and full software functionality! Note: 7 Day Trials are set up manually by Videoranch, so please sign up well in advance of the show.

INTERACT WITH THE ARTIST: Once inside Videoranch, you can move around, dance, cheer, chat and meet other Videoranch patrons. Steve and his band will be able to see your Avatar and read your comments LIVE, so be sure to let them know how much you are enjoying the show! Ranch Hands will be on duty to help you and will greet you the moment you log on.
Find out more information by emailing [email protected] or calling toll free 1-866-727-2639.

Below is a blurb coming out in the upcoming issue of Singer and Musician magazine. I thought this might help give you a sense of what the experience is like to attend a Videoranch concert:

"Imagine a place where the air is clean, the temperature is always in the pleasenties, you are surrounded by nice folks and there's a live band that knows you by name. Plus, there are free movies and hot air balloon rides. It's VideoRanch, a virtual world cooked up by Michael Nesmith (One-time member of the Monkees and, more importantly, music video pioneer). Feel free to roam the ranch at your leisure, and then check out the event calendar for upcoming live groups. I popped in on a Sunday afternoon and was immediately greeted by name (my chosen nickname) by the house band, Ranch Dressing (these guys are great!). A bit later, The Refugees took the stage for a full hour live show. Other performers have included The John Jorgenson Quintet, Eliza Gilkyson, James McMurtry, Laurence Juber, Laura Love, Mumbo Gumbo, The Greencards, Ledward Kaapana, Tony Furtado and Jason Nesmith. What makes this so unique is that the band is actually playing in real time from a studio. And, as they know who is coming and going, they can interact with you (actually, your avatar). It's very much like just hanging with some friends and listening to some great music is in an intimate, outdoor atmosphere. And, after the band has gone home, you can stroll the ranch's tree-lined cobblestone walk-ways in search of some interesting and fun surprises or even get a look at the virtual facility from in the sky onboard a hot air-balloon."
--------------- Robert Lindquist, Singer and Musician Magazine


Hope to see you somewhere this weekend.
Steve

Posted by steve at 3:21 PM | Comments (18)

Traveling
available now!
 
Chinese Vacation
available now!
check out some tracks here
 
Digital Video Disc
Live at the Basement
Sydney, Australia
 

Sign up now
for the Poltz.com
newsletter




 
Archives
You can check out
"On with the Shows"
for all concert dates.

The discussion board
is alive and well.
 
Ditty du jour
 

here's a funny dispatch
from a past trip abroad...


 

cash

There are more photos
past and present
in the section called
"Photology"

 

here's another letter
of a different naturehttp://poltz.com/.


 

the cutest roughneck
that side of the rio grandehttp://poltz.com/.


 

steve, do you want to add a post?
home press merch tour music photos biography contact bulletin board